The Department of Homeland Security (DHS) published a Federal Register notice on December 13, 2023, reiterating extensions of the periods to re-register for Temporary Protected Status (TPS) under the existing designations of El Salvador, Haiti, Honduras, Nepal, Nicaragua, and Sudan. As previously announced, the re-registration period for each country is changing from 60 days to the full length of each country’s current TPS designation extension. The re-registration extensions are solely for TPS beneficiaries who properly filed for TPS during a previous registration period.

The 18-month re-registration periods for these current TPS beneficiaries, which are currently open, are extended to the following dates:

  • El Salvador, through March 9, 2025
  • Haiti, through August 3, 2024
  • Honduras, through July 5, 2025
  • Nepal, through June 24, 2025
  • Nicaragua, through July 5, 2025
  • Sudan, through April 19, 2025

DHS said that limiting the re-registration period to 60 days “for these particular beneficiaries might place a burden on applicants who cannot timely file, but who otherwise would be eligible to re-register for TPS. In particular, ongoing litigation resulted in overlapping periods of TPS validity that were announced in several Federal Register notices, which may confuse some current beneficiaries. This notice allows beneficiaries of these countries who have not been required to re-register for TPS for the past few years due to litigation to re-register through the entire designation extension period.”

Related Links: