The Department of Homeland Security (DHS) extended temporary travel restrictions among the United States, Canada, and Mexico through February 21, 2021. The restrictions suspend entry via land border, ferry crossing, passenger rail, or coastal ports of entry from Canada and/or Mexico for pleasure boat travel of immigrants and nonimmigrants, including any travel that is not deemed essential. The restrictions do not apply to air, freight rail, or sea travel.

The determination of essential travel is at the discretion of the port of entry and exceptions to the restrictions include U.S. citizens and lawful permanent residents returning to the United States, individuals traveling for medical purposes and to attend educational institutions, individuals traveling to work in the United States, and other reasons.

Related Link: