The Department of Homeland Security, in consultation with the Department of State, announced the countries whose nationals are eligible to participate in the H-2A (temporary agricultural) and H-2B (temporary nonagricultural) visa programs. 

The Secretary of Homeland Security, with the concurrence of the Secretary of State, has decided to:

  • Add Bosnia and Herzegovina, the Republic of Cyprus, the Dominican Republic (currently only eligible for the H-2A program), Haiti, Mauritius, and Saint Lucia to the list of countries eligible to participate in the H-2A and H-2B programs; and
  • No longer designate Moldova as an eligible country for the H-2A visa program because it no longer meets the regulatory standards for that program. Moldova’s eligibility for the H-2A program remains effective until January 18, 2022.

Except for Moldova, the designations took effect November 10, 2021, and will remain in effect for one year, until November 10, 2022. 

U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services (USCIS) may approve H-2A and H-2B petitions for nationals of countries not on the list on a case-by-case basis if doing so is determined to be in the interest of the United States.

Related Links: