A presidential proclamation issued on June 22, 2020, suspends the entry of many nonimmigrant workers until the end of the year. The proclamation affects H-1B, H-2B, J-1, and L-1 visa holders and their immediate family members. The proclamation only affects nonimmigrant workers outside the United States, not those already in the United States. The proclamation includes some exceptions, including people doing COVID-19 research and those necessary for securing the U.S. food supply chain.

Miller Mayer immigration attorney Steve Yale-Loehr has coauthored a detailed summary of the new proclamation.

Related Links: