On December 22, 2020, U.S. Customs and Border Protection (CBP) issued two notices extending temporary travel restrictions related to the COVID-19 pandemic and applicable to land ports of entry and ferry service between the United States and Canada, and between the United States and Mexico.

From December 22, 2020, through January 21, 2020, travel from Canada and Mexico into the United States via land ports of entry and ferry service is limited to “essential travel,” as defined in the notices. Essential travel includes, but is not limited to, returning U.S. citizens and lawful permanent residents; individuals traveling for medical purposes, to attend educational institutions, to work in the United States, for emergency response and public health purposes, to engage in lawful cross-border trade, and others. Those subject to the restrictions include those traveling for tourism, including sightseeing, recreation, gambling, or attending cultural events.

The notices do not apply to air, freight rail, or sea travel but do apply to passenger rail, passenger ferry travel, and pleasure boat travel.

Related Links: