The Department of State published a final rule, effective April 22, 2019, modifying current regulations to reflect that consular officers are to discontinue granting visas to individuals from certain sanctioned countries.

Under the current regulation, consular officers either grant or deny every visa application. The final rule creates a third and different action, requiring consular officers to discontinue granting visas when a country has been sanctioned for “denying or delaying accepting one or more of its nationals subject to a final order of removal from the United States.”

Related Link: