On November 19, 2019, the Departments of Justice and Homeland Security published a rule that limits the rights of certain asylum seekers. The rule, which takes effect immediately, allows U.S. officials to rapidly deport asylum applicants from El Salvador, Guatemala, and Honduras if they didn’t first apply for asylum in a neighboring country before coming to the United States. The rule is expected to be challenged in court.

Related Link: